The Laboratory Research Division (LRD) is one of 4 divisions of the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine. The LRD is composed of 10 departments: the Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance Reference Laboratory (ARSRL), Entomology, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology Laboratory, the National TB Reference Laboratory, Parasitology, Pathology, Veterinary Research Laboratory, and Virology.

The LRD also houses all the Philippine Department of Health’s National Reference Laboratories for infectious diseases (with the exception of the Reference Laboratory for Sexually Transmitted Infections) and World Health Organization (WHO) – recognized laboratories. These lead centers are tasked with performing laboratory research, monitoring of disease occurrence and spread (surveillance), responding rapidly to outbreaks and pandemics, performing confirmatory testing on referred specimens/microbial isolates, conducting training programs, providing guidance documents and technical assistance, testing of rapid diagnostic kits, and implementing national external quality assurance programs for microbiology laboratories.

The RITM-LRD gears all these activities in support to the DOH’s thrusts in the prevention and control of infectious and tropical diseases of public health importance.

For list of updated Laboratory Services Fees, please contact the RITM Clinical Laboratory at (02) 807-2631/32/37 local 210.